Praktica BC1

Discussion in '35mm Cameras' started by Aushiker, May 25, 2015.

1. Aushiker

Aushiker FF Rookie

May 25, 2015
    Fremantle, Western Australia
    Andrew
    Hi

Snuck over from the Mu-43 forums as I am seeking information and thoughts on a Praktica BC1 which has popped up locally on eBay. It is being sold with few extra lenses as detailed below.

50mm 1.8 Prakticar
    28mm 2.8 Prakticar
    70-210 4.5-5.6 Prakticar
    35-70mm 3.5-4.5 Prakticar
    Assorted filters inc. polariser
    Flash
    2 lens hoods

Apparently it is a German made version of the camera.

Worth bidding for? I have no experience with film cameras but would like to explore this area a bit more hence the interest this camera.

Thanks
    Andrew

2. phigmov

phigmov FF Regular Subscribing Member

Mar 23, 2015
    I've never used one but I've been slightly wary of Eastern Bloc cameras - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Praktica - particularly when decent quality film cameras are generally pretty cheap anyway.

I guess ultimately it depends on your budget and what you want out of the camera.
    If I were starting on a budget, I'd stick with the name brands (Canon, Olympus, Pentax or Nikon) -

* Pentax K1000 for a cheap all manual SLR (or a Nikon FM if you have a little more $$)
    * Nikon FE or Olympus OM-2 are reasonably priced and have aperture priority ability with an electronic shutter
    * Olympus Trip 35 for a cheap and simple zone focus automatic metering camera
    * Olympus Mju for a super-compact pocket camera - pretty much auto-everything

You can also pick up full-auto cameras cheap too - Canon EOS & Nikon F50/60 etc - and use modern AF lenses and modern exposure.

3. RichardB

RichardB Super Moderator

Mar 23, 2015
    Maryland, US